Junior Regional

Junior Regional
Orienteering Squads


Generic information about JIRC


The Junior Interregional Championships is an annual competition between the twelve Junior Regional Squads. First organised by YHOA in 1989 the competition is organised in rotation by the 12 Regional Associations.
For many years it took place in late June but has recently changed to the early autumn.
The competition consists of an Individual race on the Saturday followed by a Relay on the Sunday.
An agreed scoring system determines the winner on each day and the overall winner.


Each region enters a team made up of up to 4 M/W14’s, 16’s and 18’s – a total of 24 athletes. The relay teams are made up of one M/W16 plus one M/W14 plus one M/W18. being 8 teams in all per Region.


JIRC's Guidelines


PDF showing the results and analysis

Past locations

Year Venues
2022 Tyrella & Tyrella (NIOA)
2021 South Gare and Coatham Dunes (NEOA)
2019 Cowms Rocks and Tankersley Wood (YHOA)
2018 Chatsworth & Carsington Pastures (EMOA)

Winterfold & Blackheath (SEOA) 

2016 Cambus O'May & Forvie (SOA)
2015 Brereton Spurs & Oldacre (WMOA)
2014 Graythwaite & Roanhead (NWOA)
2013 Gore Heath & Godshill Ridge (SWOA)
2012 Sandringham (EAOA)
2011 Haverrigg & Simpson Grounds (NWOA)
2010 Sennybridge NW & NE (WOA)
2009 Silent Valley & Laggan Valley Park (NIOA)
2008 Feldom & Rossmede (NEOA)
2007 Malham & Danefield (YHOA)
2006 Bordon Heaths (SCOA)
2005 Carsington & Sherwood Pines (EMOA)
2004 Gullane & Calander Park (SOA)
2003 Cannock Chase (WMOA)
2002 Barrowfield & Hellsington Burrows (NWOA)
2001 Foot & Mouth (no event)
2000 Beeston Riggs & Ructon Woods (EAOA)
1999 Fonthill & Ringwood Forest (SCOA)
1998 Northumberland (NEOA)
1997 Danefield & Harden Moor (YHOA)
1996 Longshaw & Martinshaw (EMOA)
1995 Mytchett & Hawley Common (SCOA)
1994 Miterdale & Blea Tarn (NWOA)
1993 Sallowvallets & Stock Hill (SWOA)
1992 Lickey Hills & Sutton Park (WMOA)
1991 South Achray & Drumlanrig Castle (SOA)
1990 Dipton & Dukes House (NEOA)
1989 Strines & Eccleshall Woods (YHOA)